Beyond the Lovely Landscape quilt

Fred Flintstone fooling around in my Modern Home Landscape quilt

Fred Flintstone fooling around in my Modern Home Landscape quilt

I think it is time I shared some of my recent work with you all, dear readers.

The Lovely Landscape quilt in Maverick Quilts uses a focus fabric or panel-style fabric in the center. A row of circles attached to squares surrounds the central motif and then a border is added. The construction is simple and the results are wonderful. You can make a landscape quilt using the directions from my book.

I have been enjoying making quilts from my book lately – I know I should be developing new stuff, and I am, but the quilts in the book go together so quickly and they are so satisfying to make. (You may recall the Kapow Quilt that Alethea G and I were making for my niece. See http://maverickquilts.wordpress.com/2011/06/27/boyfriend-update-dont-tell-my-brother/ )

Recently I was commissioned to make a quilt for a friend’s brother’s wedding. What a delight it was when the friend loved the Harajuku Ladies from Alexander Henry as much as I did! I collected all of the fabric and was off in a flash.

Collecting fabrics for the Pagoda and Peonies Quilt

Collecting fabrics for the Pagoda and Peonies Quilt

Each fabric in the circles and squares was at least one individual color from the center fabric. I auditioned the placement of the circles, moving them many times until it felt just right.

Pagoda and Peonies Quilt - circle detail

Pagoda and Peonies Quilt – circle detail

To create the circles, I did the stitch and flip method using fusible lightweight pellon, and I stitched around each of the circles with a variegated orangy thread.

Here is a brief tutorial that goes with the directions in the book.

Trace a CD to the bumpy side of the pellon interfacing

Trace a CD to the bumpy side of the pellon interfacing

Pin and sew all the way around the circle

Pin and sew all the way around the circle

Trim off the excess fabric and cut a slit in the center

Trim off the excess fabric and cut a slit in the center

Turn it right sides out and use your fingers to smooth the curves

Turn it right sides out and use your fingers to smooth the curves

Then you press it flat attaching the bumpy, fusible side to the back side of the circle.

Pagoda and Peonies quilt before the appliques

Pagoda and Peonies quilt before the appliques

After all of the circles were sewn and their locations were just right, I added borders and then began the process of adding appliques of the flowers from the panel fabric. I used up a lot of yardage to get all the flowers, but it was WORTH IT! I made sure to place the appliques across the surfaces to blur the edges and create unity in the piece.

Pagoda and Peonies Quilt - lower right corner detail

Pagoda and Peonies Quilt – lower left corner detail

Pagoda and Peonies Quilt - middle right detail

Pagoda and Peonies Quilt – middle right detail

I did some painting in a few places to add to the painterly quality of the work.

Pagoda and Peonies Quilt - middle left detail

Pagoda and Peonies Quilt – middle left detail

See how I painted the pink square (above) to mirror the black dashes in the panel?

I must say that I was more than delighted to see the finished quilt!
Pagoda and Peonies Quilt by Alethea Ballard

Pagoda and Peonies Quilt by Alethea Ballard

I especially love the bottom right corner with the pagoda.

Pagoda and Peonies Quilt - lower right corner detail

Pagoda and Peonies Quilt – lower right corner detail

Pagoda and Peonies Quilt - lower right corner detail 2

Pagoda and Peonies Quilt – lower right corner detail 2

It seems that the happy couple was delighted with their gift and it now hangs in their home in Chicago.

I have created another version of the landscape quilt, which I welcome you to go see at the Museum of the San Ramon Valley show beginning August 25, 2011. More information to follow, but here is the poster.

Quirkology of Quilts Flyer

Quirkology of Quilts Flyer

About maverickquilts

Artist, Author, Quilter View all posts by maverickquilts

3 responses to “Beyond the Lovely Landscape quilt

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 222 other followers

