Dream Chair Corral – Paris Chair

Do you see the dancing girl pinned on to the headrest?

Do you see the dancing girl pinned on to the headrest?

The kids camp idea lives on, and I am happy to be teaching a Sew Fun Kids Class once a month in Danville.

Last week we made hand-sewn pincushions and three-color tote bags – sorry I forgot to take photos!

One of my darling students shared a quilt that she had just finished, and just look at it!

Summit and Eva proudly show off the quilt!

Summit and her friend proudly show off the quilt!

Summit had attended my Dream Chair Quilts class in March, and at eight years old, she was the youngest student in the class by three decades! She worked fast and decidedly and really needed very little help. She just cut and glued and sewed and was as determined as can be!

Buttons and sequins are a great addition

Buttons and sequins are a great addition

She had chosen all of the pink French fabric and the chair went together quickly. She and I worked together to choose the green border and the lime shadow. She had the whole quilt top finished by the end of the day.

Gluing the shadow

Gluing the shadow

The quilt top is finished!

The quilt top is finished!

With help and guidance from her grandmother, Summit added some really fun embellishments to the quilt, including sequined trim around the border and the chair.

Buttons and sequins are a great addition

Buttons and sequins are a great addition

I didn’t make my first quilt until I was ten years old, so Summit really has made an early start on her quilting career. With her style, focus, and talent we are going to see great things from this wonderful girl.

A big textural flower and a little baby doll give visual interest

A big textural flower and a little baby doll give visual interest

About maverickquilts

Artist, Author, Quilter View all posts by maverickquilts

5 responses to “Dream Chair Corral – Paris Chair

  • Lala

    Took me back to when I was 8 and LOVING any kind of sewing project I could get my hands on! Why aren’t I doing more now? I gotta fit it in. so fun!

  • Cathe Hedrick

    Summit’s quilt is fabulous, I love seeing your girls being introduced to the art of quiting and fabrics. I did not learn to sew until I was an older woman and when I see young people aquiring these skills as such a young age it makes me feel very good. Oh and developing those artistic skills. Congratulations Summit You Rock!

    Cathe Hedrick, Santa Barbara Quilting Retreats

  • cyndy rymer

    Look at what you inspire the next generation of quilters to do! Awesome job, Summit! It’s all in the teaching and innate creativity.

    And hurray to Summit’s mom (her name escapes me) for encouraging this budding textile artist!

  • maverickquilts

    And Hooray Summit’s grandma, too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 222 other followers

