Must Have Fabric 2.2 – give yourself a little Good Fortune!

Good Fortune fabric by Kate Spain - yes please!

Good Fortune fabric by Kate Spain - yes please!

OK, here’s the deal…

I am in fabric stores all the time, and I admit I haven’t even been looking at fabric lately.

It goes like this – my creativity and how it unfolds is very cyclical. Each stage is intense and each one is quite distinct, even if they sometimes overlap. Without going on all day about it, I will just say that I have been in a finishing phase. Projects are getting completed right now. That means resolving perplexing visual issues and getting the tops off of the design wall. Then, on to making the backs and to loading the long arm sewing machine and to the quilting. I’ve completed several good quilts lately, even including the dreaded bindings. (I’ll share them with you soon)

The finishing phase this time has been followed by an intense designing period. I have designed five new quilts in the past few days. I’ve got sketches done, new diagrams and cutting lists, and sample blocks made. This is a reversion for me to an older working style, as all of the maverick quilts came fabric first and quilt design second. But, in this case, I have a clear theme in mind and the new quilt designs have just tumbled out complete, ready to make, and wonderful!

This brings me to the point (finally!). I need some new fabric. Yeah!

It was Sunday night and I was READY for new fabric. There was no waiting the 12 hours for the fabric stores to open! So, I opened up the trusty old Macintosh computer and did a little online retail detective work. Not ten minutes in to the search I found Kate Spain’s new fabric line, happily called Good Fortune. My investigation lead me to a certain fabric store, and look what showed up on my doorstep today…

Brown Box - let the fun begin!

Brown Box - let the fun begin!

One of the new quilts is designed with the possibility of using a jelly roll, and the Fat Quarter Shop specializes in pre-cut fabrics and packets. I was so pleased that they had just what I wanted – both the jelly roll and 5″ charm packs.

Good Fortune 5" charm squares

Good Fortune 5" charm squares

Would you just look at these? MUST HAVE!

Those of you who have read Maverick Quilts, taken my classes, or heard me lecture, know that I think white does an important job in a quilt. You also know that I love fabric with white in it!

Kate Spain's creative visions

Kate Spain's creative visions

Kate Spain’s new fabrics have a good dose of white, a delightful, whimsical nature and an Asian influence. They come in five different color ways and have a great variety of scale and design. The blossom fabric is so pretty you want to eat it! There are dragonflies, fans, pagodas, and sand that has been gently raked by a master gardner!

What the heck?

What the heck?

These little 5″ swatches just made me crazy. What the heck is going on with this print?!? What does the whole repeat look like? I just had to know, so more detectiving had to happen.

The first stop was to Kate Spain’s website, where I found a wonderful place to go and see her extensive work. She is an absolute design powerhouse with products at JoAnn’s, Target, Bed Bath & Beyond, and Crate & Barrel, to name just a few. Who knew?

I read about Kate and learned that she graduated from the Rhode Island School of Design (lucky!) and has been designing for over 15 years. I like this quote from her “about” page:

Her style radiates with natural balance and freshness in palettes that offer a unique, sophisticated and widely appealing mix of harmonious color.

So, I was still looking for clues as to what that fabulous fabric looked like and then I found Kate’s cheerful blog. I know you, my dear readers, will love this little tutorial from Kate.

Pagoda (waterfall colorway)

Pagoda (waterfall colorway)

What I did learn is that this design from the Good Fortune fabric line has been translated into a line of dishes at Crate & Barrel.

Chase Porcelain Plates from Crate & Barrel

Chase Porcelain Plates from Crate & Barrel

Soooo – you could make cool quilts, tablecloths, aprons, placemats, napkins and the like – and have matching dishes – how cool would that be? Read more about the dishes on this blog post from Kate.

Fat Quarter Shop logo

Fat Quarter Shop logo

So the investigation eventually lead me back to the Fat Quarter Shop, where I was able to find a larger image and the name of the fabric.

and lookie!

Good Fortune Zen Pond Garden fabric by Kate Spain

Good Fortune Zen Pond Garden fabric by Kate Spain

It’s called Good Fortune Zen Pond Garden in this color

Good Fortune Waterfall Garden

Good Fortune Waterfall Garden

It’s Good Fortune Waterfall Garden in the periwinkle…

Good Fortune Spirit Garden

Good Fortune Spirit Garden

and Good Fortune Spirit Garden in the orange. Yummmmmmy! I MUST HAVE some of this, and soon!

Good Fortune fabric jelly roll - yumbalia!

Good Fortune fabric jelly roll - yumbalia!

The jelly roll is so pretty that I haven’t even opened it yet!

Good Fortune fabric line's Lantern Flowers

Good Fortune fabric line's Lantern Flowers

But wait! You also get the Lantern Tranquility flowers. Are you kidding me?

I JUST HAPPENED to be at my local fabric store yesterday and LOOK what I found…

More Good Fortune fabric!

More Good Fortune fabric!

Winning!

It is absolutely exquisite in person – I actually saw it from across the store and had that little lurch in my fabric heart. I practically ran to see what it was. I was stunned and delighted to discover that it was from the line I had just ordered online! Now, that’s Good Fortune! The hand is so soft and smooth – Moda can really make a fabulous fabric!

I cannot wait to show y’all what I am going to make.

So, kids, run right out and get some of this Must Have Fabric – I have spoken! (I am so excited that I am not going to be able to sleep tonight!)

AND be sure to send me photos of what you make, and we can share your work with everyone!

About maverickquilts

Artist, Author, Quilter View all posts by maverickquilts

10 responses to “Must Have Fabric 2.2 – give yourself a little Good Fortune!

  • Jeanette

    I have had the opportunity to buy this fabric via quilt shop emails I get and am always drawn but haven’t succumbed yet, but you have convinced me–gotta have it too! Can’t wait to see what you do it! Also clicked on Kate’s blog and since she is a fellow cat-lover now I have her blog delivered to my e-mail too. Thanks to all of you who do that–makes us feel a little like we know you personally! My cousin took your “chair” workshop recently at Wooden Gate (Karen is her name) and when she comes for a visit to Oklahoma soon she is going to do a “workshop” for her sister and me. Her chair was a “WOW” and I can only hope mine comes to close to hers! You are an inspiration!

    • maverickquilts

      Hi Jeanette,
      I am so glad that you’ve caught the Good Fortune bug!
      It would make a great chair quilt. You can get it in your favorite colorway, but they are all so pretty it will be tough to choose just one!
      I am so glad to hear that you, your sister, and your cousin all quilt together – what a joyful was to spend time with family.
      Send me photos!
      Alethea

  • kate spain

    Dear Alethea,
    Thank you so much for all that you’ve written here! It is a generous gift to my day and I am completely humbled and filled with immeasurable happiness to read about your delightful unfolding of fabric detectivity :) It’s a designer’s dream to hear about the “little lurch” you mentioned, and i only hope to be able to make that happen as often as possible! So i will sit here on the edge of my chair awaiting a glimpse of your creative vision. Wishing you much (more) Good Fortune on your sewing adventure! Big big hugs, kate

    • maverickquilts

      Kate, Thank you for the kind note.
      Just wait until I get some of the cherry blossom floral and the Zen Garden fabric! Can’t wait!
      I find that I am in good company when I talk about fabric. It really does effect some of us on a physical level, and I know it really is a great mood stimulant!
      You really have created wonderful fabric!
      Alethea

  • Lala

    I Love this fabric! Yummy colors…a lightness and sweetness…..definitely makes me want to surround myself with colors that make me happy! Can’t wait to see your new quilts. You always inspire me….the way you let your energy bubble up….and then ride the wave! Thanx!

  • Louise

    Well, you and Kate Spain should be very happy :) I was so inspired by your post and the fabric, I placed a nice, fat order w/Esty.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 214 other followers

