Must Have Fabric 3 – If Looks Could Kill!

Ghastlie Dollie

Ghastlie Dollie

Alexander Henry Fabrics has sent another visual valentine to us fabric lovers.

It is a Must Have Fabric! I have spoken and it shall be so!

With last year’s Ghastlies series, we reveled in wonderful fabric that featured images from the strangest dinner party ever, and this year we can join this oddball group in A Ghastlies Family Reunion.

Ghastlie Family Reunion from Alexander Henry Fabrics

Ghastlie Family Reunion from Alexander Henry Fabrics

It comes in several colors, including mauve, grey and green. (I suspect it comes in a white background, too, but I haven’t seen it yet.)

Clad in costumes from the Roaring 20’s, these upper-class socialites seem to be frozen in tableaux whose meanings we can only guess at.

A Ghastlie Family Reunion fabric from Alexander Henry Fabrics

A Ghastlie Family Reunion fabric from Alexander Henry Fabrics

Family portrait?

Family portrait?

Last year’s fabric featured a beribboned girl holding a hammer.  My friends and I refer to the dress-wearing tomboy as “little Alethea.” She really reminded me of myself, the dress, the tool, and the perpetual pout!

Little Alethea

Little Alethea

There is a new (old) member of staff, the butler Cobblestone.

Cobblestone the butler

Cobblestone the butler

We also have some new family members.

Baby

Baby Bertram

Cousin Georgie

Cousin Georgie joins Frederick and the cat

Carlotta and her dollie

Cousin Carlotta and her dollie

Cousin Zelda (peeking out from Aunt Georgetta's skirt)

Cousin Zelda (peeking out from Aunt Georgetta's skirt)

If looks could kill...

If looks could kill...

One wonders what is going on between these two ladies. There must be more than meets the eye. Could it have something to do with the expecting mother and her wayward husband?

Happy couple?

Happy couple?

So now the question remains… what to make with this fabric?

I can see some great bags, placemats, and pillows on the horizon.

As for quilts, well, let’s see. Laura Nownes Shoji Screen Quilt pattern would be nice.

Shoji Screen Quilt, pattern from Laura Nownes

Shoji Screen Quilt, pattern from Laura Nownes

Think of the fun fabrics and images you could put inside the frames. Alexander Henry has some fun companion fabrics that will read solid for the frame fabric.

One of my friends from Wooden Gate Quilts is already making a 9-Patch Pizzazz from Judy Sisnero’s fabulous book. (Which I wish I had written!)

9-Patch Pizzazz, by Judy Sisneros

9-Patch Pizzazz, by Judy Sisneros

I can’t wait to see how it develops!

Large-scale prints like this are also great for quilts from my book Maverick Quilts. Try it in Superstars, California Housetop, in the off blocks in Bella Boxes, or as the central panel in Lovely Landscape. Any of these would be great!

Or, how about the Show Off pattern in the book?

Show Off Summer Quilt, by Alethea Ballard, 2010. 65" x 76.5"

Show Off Summer Quilt, by Alethea Ballard, 2010. 65" x 76.5"

Show Off Jewels Quilt, by Alethea Ballard; 2010. 65" x 76.5"

Show Off Jewels Quilt, by Alethea Ballard; 2010. 65" x 76.5"

As always, sorry for the photo quality! (The publisher sent me a CD with all of the nice photos from the book, but I can’t figure out how to open them, silly me!)

For my Ghastlies quilt, I chose the Show Off pattern.

Show Off Ghastlies Quilt, by Alethea Ballard; 2011

Show Off Ghastlies Quilt, by Alethea Ballard; 2011

This quilt is made from the fabric which came out last year, and I used both the green and grey background versions for the block centers. The frames are made in black, grey, green, pink and then I threw in some purple just for fun.

I used the white version in the border

I used the white version in the border

Poor wee Frederick

Poor wee Frederick

Unlike the Show Off Quilt in the book, I included sashing between each horizontal set and added a wide band a single fabric. On the band I created a funny portrait gallery with images from the fabric.

Upper Chambermaid Dorset

Upper Chambermaid Dorset

I made frames for each portrait by fussy cutting fabric and fusing it wown. You should have heard me cackling as I finished each one!

Aunt Agnes

Aunt Agnes

Love the hair!

Ghastlie Family portrait gallery

Ghastlie Family portrait gallery

Do you see the cat’s ears on the top of Father’s portrait and the four cat feet on the bottom? I will stitch everything down with the quilting.

Ringing for the maid - a Ghastlie dinner! Look at miserable little Frederick!

Ringing for the maid - a Ghastlie dinner! Look at miserable little Frederick!

Please send me photos of what you make from this MUST HAVE FABRIC! I always love to see your work!

Happy quilting!

About maverickquilts

Artist, Author, Quilter View all posts by maverickquilts

2 responses to “Must Have Fabric 3 – If Looks Could Kill!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 218 other followers

