Make socks not war – or sock it to me, fishy

sock circles

sock circles

I have been traveling my b#*t off. (Strange because it’s still very visible back there!)

My patriotic Santa Cruz man

My patriotic man

A different port every week – and a different man in each port…

But last week’s traveling was for a fun, a two night mini-break to Santa Cruz with a girlfriend!

The super-hip Dream Inn in Santa Cruz!

The super-hip Dream Inn in Santa Cruz!

We did all the sites,

Beach view from our room at the Dream Inn

Beach view from our room at the Dream Inn

beach,

What is a boardwalk without a scary chair swing ride?

What is a boardwalk without a scary chair swing ride?

boardwalk,

Building from 1887 - yes, Please!

Building from 1887 – yes, Please!

Victorian buildings,

The only plants worth photographing (huge, BTW)

The only plants worth photographing (huge, BTW)

plants,

Harts Fabrics in Santa Cruz

Harts Fabrics in Santa Cruz

fabric store,

I'll have a third wave please!

I’ll have a third wave please!

third-wave coffee place (although I prefer 4th-wave coffee)

Pumpkin Boranee - out of this world!

Pumpkin Boranee – out of this world!

amazing pumpkin dish at Laili called Boranee – Out of this world!

Vintage shoes!

Vintage shoes!

shoe shopping,

Ummm... YES!

Ummm… YES!

antique store (where I MIGHT have bought these mid-century modern dishes),

Sea Lion family off the Santa Cruz Pier

Sea Lion family off the Santa Cruz Pier

the long pier walk,

Socks and more socks!

Socks and more socks!

and the sock shop!

Fish Sock

Fish Sock

But it was the trip to the sock store that produced the best results!

Still the fish sock

Still the fish sock

Supplies (not including sewing machine and stuffing)

Supplies (not including sewing machine and stuffing)

And I made it all into a fish toy!

Handsome side view

Handsome side view

Attractive top view

Attractive top view

Sexy angle view

Sexy angle view

ready for her close up

ready for her close up

I think I’ll call her Pucker.

I have to thank some sock maker somewhere for making such a great sock for me to play with.  And I have to thank my dear friend for the GREAT trip!!!

About maverickquilts

Artist, Author, Quilter View all posts by maverickquilts

6 responses to “Make socks not war – or sock it to me, fishy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 219 other followers

