Quilt Label – a very long 4-letter word!

Detail of Fiesta Beauties quilt, by Alethea Ballard; 2012

Detail of Fiesta Beauties quilt, by Alethea Ballard; 2012

OK! Uncle!

I am making some labels for a few of my new quilts. But, only because I have to.

detail of Fiesta Beauties quilt, by Alethea Ballard; 2012

detail of Fiesta Beauties quilt, by Alethea Ballard; 2012

The Quilt Police have had a warrant out on me for years for section 420.67b, non-completion of quilt labels (along with section 316.28a, undocumented quilt gift-giving (no photo of quilt taken before given away); section 421.12c non-inclusion of hanging sleeves; and a few other misdemeanors to be named later).

However, I am showing some of my new work in the Teacher’s Tent at the Sister’s Outdoor Quilt show next week, and they require compliance with the practice of adding a label.  I get why a quilt should be labeled – I even agree that it’s a good thing.

One should label their quilts. (Should – another long 4-letter word.)

I don’t know if it is the rebel in me, the lazy in me, or the absolute aversion to hand sewing, but I NEVER make labels for my quilts. Except for now, when I am doing it for these five quilts (and a few other times).

So, could I just have made a nice simple label? A pretty square with the pertinent information? I COULD have.

But did I?

Why, no.

Quilt Label pre-view

Quilt Label pre-view

Of course not! I made a super-complex collage of at least 12 pieces.

Why so many bits, you might ask? Well, I made her a new skirt top with the pretty red points (the original has just one red point), and then I collaged the basilica, flowers, cacti, and leaves to make a balanced arrangement.

I am sure you’ve noticed by now that the piece is not a simple square either. Of course not! That would just be too easy!

Starting to pin the label edge to the quilt back

Starting to pin the label edge to the quilt back

I did give her a nice set of arm and shoulder tattoos while I was at it. And why not?

Then, I used a zig-zag stitch to attach the collage to a background piece. Not sure it’s the best look, but TOO LATE NOW!

Now we come to the yucky bit – all that hand sewing and turning under of edges, curves, inner corners, and other tools of torture to a hand-sew-a-phobe like me!

Trim the excess off the edges

Trim the excess off the edges

I trimmed the edge a bit and clipped the outer curves. Then I pinned with long, sharp pins (I chose long pins so that the thread could get caught in the pins with each and every stitch – seriously!)

the Maverick Voodoo pin technique

the Maverick Voodoo pin technique

Then I did sew it with little invisible stitches and green thread.

Stitches are looking invisible to me

Stitches are looking invisible to me

Not too bad for someone who avoids this kind of work like a plague of nose-picking pig farmers.

Clip into the inner corners (I think)

Clip into the inner corners (I think)

When I had to work on this (the most complex) section, I clipped into the corners.

Got it pretty-much under control

Got it pretty-much under control

So that’s about it – and it’s done.

(You’re probably wondering why there is that funny line on her chest. The reason is that I started with a piece that had her face, arm and body but had the left part of her chest cut off. Rather than starting with a whole lady, I just cut the chest off of another intact lady. What was I thinking? No Idea. Just sometimes one makes silly decisions.)

Here’s the finished look…

Fiesta Beauties quilt label all finished

Fiesta Beauties quilt label all finished

close-up of Fiesta Beauties quilt label all finished

close-up of Fiesta Beauties quilt label all finished

So only four more to go!

Quilt label for Barbed Wire Betsy quilt, by Alethea Ballard

Quilt label for Barbed Wire Betsy quilt, by Alethea Ballard

Well, I actually finished the label for Barbed Wire Betsy (see this post), and I kept this one more simple!!!

I gave her a barbed-wire font!

I gave her a barbed-wire font!

So three more to go – please hold.

About maverickquilts

Artist, Author, Quilter View all posts by maverickquilts

5 responses to “Quilt Label – a very long 4-letter word!

  • Jeanette

    Love, love, love your quilt labels–when the back is as interesting as the front, now that is a wonderful quilt! So sorry I’m not going to be at Sisters to see all your new quilts–please post after the show!

    • maverickquilts

      Oh, That’s so nice to hear – I really do dislike making them, but it helps to know that it’s worth it. I actually made a whole second quilt on the back of the Fiesta Beauties quilt! I just need to take photos and I’ll post. It’s on my list of things to do!

  • Carol

    Your labels are beautiful and give me inspiration because I’m in violation too! Have fun in Sisters! Wish I were going.

  • Franki Kohler

    Great labels! You are a renegade!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 222 other followers

