Movember – it’s not for the faint of hair

Happy Movember
Happy Movember

Happy Movember, all! (formerly called November)

Of course, it’s my favorite month of the year because, as you all know, I LOVE A MUSTACHE!  You’ll recall ALL of my earlier mustache-obsessed blogs: Here and here and here. (P.S. there are many links in this blog and if you click on all of them you get a lot of brownie points!)

Not quite rockin' mustache photobombed by a bird
Not quite rockin’ mustache photobombed by a bird

Movember is the month that raises awareness and money for men’s health issues through a global charity campaign. The charity asks men to grow a mustache over the month of November and use it to raise money. That money goes to four basic charity groups: Men’s health awareness and education, cancer research, prostate cancer and understanding mental illness. Check it out at the site.

Not quite my dad, but a good likeness of him (not the dog!)
Not quite my dad, but a good likeness of him (not the dog!)

My obsession with the mustache probably goes back to my Dad – doesn’t everything? He had a rockin’ mustache for about 20 years – except for the ill-fated time in 1973 when he shaved it off and we called him Mr. Stranger and refused to speak to him until he grew it back! I suppose growing up n the ’70s meant that I saw many, many mustaches! And of course, I do look very good in a mustache!

My darling friend, the Dashing Dana
My darling friend, the Dashing Dana

Two of my all-time favorite mustachioed men also have beards, but I won’t hold that against them!

Jack Passion - world's best beard winner!
Jack Passion – world’s best beard winner!

In 2010 ran into the now-famous Jack Passion at Peet’s in Walnut Creek and stopped him to tell him that his beard was so good that he should be in a competition. (Because I had, of course, been looking at all of the beard and mustache competition websites in my spare time.) He happily told me that he ALREADY HAD and had (at that point) twice won the World Beard Competition. Now he has a TV show, has written books, plays in a band and has written a coloring book that I HAVE TO BUY!!! He’s a lovely man and his beard is quite lovely, too!

Awesome Mustache quilt
Awesome Mustache quilt

In honor of Movember I am offering to donate one dollar of every sale of my Awesome Mustache quilt on Craftsy to the cause! You can instantly download a full-sized pattern for all of these fun mustaches and this quilt and help the cause at the same time!

Awesome Mustache quilt made at 50%
Awesome Mustache quilt made at 50%

When I was teaching up in Redding, California this year, a quilter brought in this fabulous version of the quilt. She had reduced all of the drawings to 50% and made this quilt for her brother’s kitchen wall! I love it!

Mini Awesome Mustache quilt, by Alethea Ballard; 2012
Mini Awesome Mustache quilt, by Alethea Ballard; 2012

If you really need a Movember quilt fast, and you don’t want to make one, I have his little beauty for sale at Etsy. It’s the only one, so click fast if you really want it! Of, course there are some fun pillows at my store, too!

detail of Mini Awesome Mustache quilt!
detail of Mini Awesome Mustache quilt!

But, as an added bonus, I’m going to send the instructions for this wall hanging to everyone who has bought the Awesome Mustache pattern! Because that’s how I roll!

I’ve also been on a roll making a new quilt about every week – I’ll be sharing these with you all pronto! Stay tuned and Happy Movember.

I’m off to my esthetician now, to get my facial hair worked on – moustaches don’t really look that good on me after all!

6 thoughts on “Movember – it’s not for the faint of hair

Leave a comment