Barbed-Wire Betsy – the perfect quilt for the Dream Chair Corral

Barbed-Wire Betsy Chair Quilt by Alethea Ballard
Barbed-Wire Betsy Chair Quilt by Alethea Ballard

Yee Ha!  Here she is – Rodeo girl gone wild!

This was one of those quilts which came together in a flash.  I pulled out my stack of cowboy (and cowgirl) fabrics, and this rodeo girl jumped up and practically shot me in the foot with her revolver.

There were a few images in the fabric that I wanted to alter, like a horses rear end on the arm of the chair and a head at the bottom of the seat back.  It was easy to fussy cut images from the fabric out and glue them in place over the top of the parts I wanted to hide.  If you click on the pictures, you can see them close up and read my notes.

Barbed-Wire Betsy Chair left leg detail
Barbed-Wire Betsy Chair left leg detail
Barbed-Wire Betsy Chair seat back detail
Barbed-Wire Betsy Chair seat back detail

I am really excited by creating borders that are “carved” out of the fabric.  This cactus fabric just begged to be used in a carved border.  See?

Once the chair was made and the borders were coming along, I spied the flower fabric in my pile, and the rest is (Wild West) history!  I love how the cowboys peek out from behind the flowers!   So playful and fun!

Barbed-Wire Betsy Chair lower right border detail
Barbed-Wire Betsy Chair lower right border detail

I quilted barbed wire in the borders.  Yummy!

I think this is my second-favorite chair ever!

P.S. Yes, for those of you paying attention, my boyfriend Alex made most of this fabric – I love him!

One thought on “Barbed-Wire Betsy – the perfect quilt for the Dream Chair Corral

  1. I am still loving this quilt as my #2 favorite.

    My #1 quilt would be your halloween one…which you need to post.

    Keep it up, Teacher

Leave a Reply

