Flowers As Art – Inspiration comes in so many forms

Yellow Rose Chair

Yellow Rose Chair

I have a cup that a friend gave to me that says, “Do something creative every day.”

So many of us are creative in tiny ways, we add a little spice to a meal, we cut our kid’s sandwiches in a new shape, we arrange our scarves differently, we sing a funny little song, we make up a new swear word…

Guadalupe grid

Guadalupe grid

You don’t have to be an artist to be creating all the time.

However, creativity needs inspiration!  It’s hard to be constantly creative without input from sources that spark your spirit.

I think I need a new cup.  I want to add to the motto.  How about,  “Find a little inspiration every day.”

You know what I mean – the daily grind can be very wearing, and we need to find things that help feed our little inspirations – not to mention some big food for big creative projects like quilts and paintings!

Big bouquet for lady

Big bouquet for lady

I got a whole 12-course meal of inspiration this week at the M. H. de Young Museum in San Francisco.  They held their annual Bouquets to Art exhibit and, for the first time, I was able to go.

Dog

Dog

Different Bay Area florists make floral arrangements to go with, compliment, or evoke the feeling of a piece of art.

Here are my favorites.

The show was extremely crowded, so getting a photo was a big challenge.  I had to squeeze forward, elbow some little old lady out of the way, mutter unpleasantly for the people behind the work to move their keister – can’t they see me down here with this camera!

Large arrangement with pheasant feathers

Large arrangement with pheasant feathers

There was no way I could even get the information about the art or artists or the names of the florists – sorry!  I am so short that people were steadying their cameras on my head like a chubby little pedestal.

Cool painting dude

Cool painting dude

In fact, I think is OK to look and see and feel and not have to know everything about what you are looking at.  How often do you pick up a book or a magazine and just look at the pictures?  I do that 95% of the time – I mean, I can only take in so much information and what I really need is the visual info!

Flowers with Rothko painting -detail

Flowers with Rothko painting -detail

My friend and I asked a kindly stranger to take our photo with one of the arrangements, so we’d have a little reminder of our trip there.  She was kind and we had to wait a long time to let everyone take the pictures before we snuck in and stood in front of the flowers.  It took just a second, and we thanked everyone for their patience.  One biddy quipped, “Don’t do it again,” in a mean raspy voice.  That was inspiration for a really good laugh!  I mean, really?!  Still – take the inspiration where you can get it!

If you double click on the photos they will go to their own page and you can really get a good look.

My favorite might have been this large orange arrangement.

Big orange arrangement

Big orange arrangement

Big orange arrangement - detail

Big orange arrangement - detail

Of course the chairs had a special spot in my tiny heart.

I am really glad I got to see the show.  Who knows where all this inspiration will lead me?

Next time I’ll take a ladder, a GPS system, and an oxygen tank, but for now…  Off to the studio – what will I make today?

Big gnarly chair

Big gnarly chair

Little metal chair with cats

Little metal chair with cats

About maverickquilts

Artist, Author, Quilter View all posts by maverickquilts

Leave a Reply

