Maverick Quilts – the book is almost here!

Now showing: Maverick Quilts!
Now showing: Maverick Quilts!

I received my advance copy of my new quilting book, Maverick Quilts, right before I set out for Quilt Market.

36 lucky books - think of the quilts that will get made!
36 lucky books - think of the quilts that will get made!

It is an amazing thing to hold one’s own book!  You have spent so many hours on each and every part of the book that it is totally familiar to you, like an old friend.  But holding it in your hands and seeing the layout and color and all the things that the editors did to make the book look good is just wonderful!  I know that there are some quilters out there who will LOVE this book!

The beginning of the line
The beginning of the line

At Quilt Market, in Salt Lake City, the C & T Publishing gave away 36 books at a signing I did on Saturday morning.  People started lining up early, and the line eventually went all the way to the back wall!  In the end there were so many people that we ran out of books, and we had to turn lots of them away empty handed.  Sorry!

Pen at the ready!
Pen at the ready!

It was really delightful to meet everyone and talk to them.  There were some groups from Montana, Florida, California, Costa Rica, Belgium, and New Zealand.  I tried to invite myself to everyone’s shops and am sitting by the phone waiting for those invitations to pour in.  Passport is current!

These wonderful ladies were from Montana
These wonderful ladies were from Montana
This lady was from Wellington, New Zealand
This lady was from Wellington, New Zealand. I invited myself to her house, of course.

It was a little like a wedding reception.  It went by in a blur and I smiled until my cheeks hurt.  I wasn’t able to get people’s names nor remember them all, but I look forward to hearing from them in the future and seeing the quilts that they make from the book.

I loved talking to everyone
I loved talking to everyone
Everyone was very nice
Everyone was very nice

I was so delighted to be able to begin sharing my personal quilt vision with others.  Stay tuned…

The happy author
The happy author

P.S. Special thanks to Royal Photographer, Ashley Jones, for her amazing camera work!

3 thoughts on “Maverick Quilts – the book is almost here!

  1. Can’t wait for the book to hit the shelves. Those are great pictures of you Alethea — Kudos to the royal photographer!

  2. Royal Photographer indeed! Congratulations on your book Alethea. I loved seeing your creativity and happy personality at work!

Leave a Reply

