Dream Chair Corral – Te Amo Chair

Te Amo Chair by Alethea Gard'ner
Te Amo Chair by Alethea Gard'ner

I am just in love with this wonderful small quilt made by Alethea Gard’ner.  It is called, Te Amo Chair.  It was made in the Dream Chair Quilts class I taught at Dragonfly Quilts in Watkinsville, Georgia, this Spring.

No, I haven’t changed my name, Alethea G is my sister-in-law; she’s married to my younger brother.  It’s a very long story, but I am happy to not be the only Alethea in the family.  We fondly refer to ourselves as Sister and Other.

Clearly, Other is a wonderful quilter!

Te Amo Chair - right headrest
Te Amo Chair - right headrest
Te Amo Chair - seat detail
Te Amo Chair - seat detail

We took the pattern from the pattern pack to the copy shop and enlarged it a little to fit on a 16″ x 20″ canvas frame we bought.   Alethea used raw-edge applique using an UHU glue stick to hold the pieces in place until the quilting.

The colors are absolutely electrifying and the imagery is wonderful.

Using different fabric for each side and a variety of shapes and colors, Alethea effectively created an exciting work of art.

Te Amo Chair - lower right corner detail
Te Amo Chair - lower right corner detail
Te Amo Chair - upper left corner detail
Te Amo Chair - upper left corner detail

I am always happy to have someone to play quilting with, and I am lucky to have Alethea in my family!

Te Amo Chair
Te Amo Chair
5 thoughts on “Dream Chair Corral – Te Amo Chair

      1. I love the intersection of Aprons and Quilts, I am disappointed that I will not be in town that day… I got so excited about your work I did not double check the date. I will read your blog and hopefully catch your work again! cheers!

Leave a Reply

