Boyfriend(s)? Two-timing my husband now!

Don’t tell my husband now, as I am afraid that I have been hanging out with a new boyfriend, Michael Miller!  Does that make me a two-timer or a three-timer? I am not sure!

I am working on making some new children’s quilts and was looking for something charming.  Something sweet and irresistible and darling and fresh.

I found it in Children at Play fabrics by Sarah Jane for Michael Miller Fabrics.

Usually, I find the fabric first and then I create a quilt design that will work to show off  the fabric in the size and scale that I want.  With both the girl and boy versions of this fabric, there are small prints (which I sometimes avoid in larger quilts) and medium-scale fabric with vignettes of children at play.

The challenge now will be to create quilts around these fabrics.

'Children at Play Over the Fence' by Sarah Jane for Michael Miller Fabrics

'Children at Play Over the Fence' by Sarah Jane for Michael Miller Fabrics

'Children at Play' by Sarah Jane for Michael Miller Fabrics

'Children at Play' by Sarah Jane for Michael Miller Fabrics

But… if I had a copy of my new book, Maverick Quilts, and I wanted to make a special quilt for a little one I would perhaps use these fabrics to make a small version of California Housetop; the larger prints would work for the large sashing and the dots, stripes, would make great strips around the medium prints for the centers.

AND, if I had Maverick Quilts and these fabrics, I would definitely make Square Dinkum!  What great square-in-a-square blocks these fabrics would make.  Then, I have my pick of great prints for the borders!  Talk about darling!

As always, my lack of professional photographic skill comes out in the rendering of the color, but you can check them out on the Michael Miller website at http://www.michaelmillerfabrics.com/MMF/Swatch4.cfm?Gnam=Children%20at%20Play%20by%20Sarah%20Jane

About maverickquilts

Artist, Author, Quilter View all posts by maverickquilts

Leave a Reply

