Must Have Fabric # 2

Hello Smiley Guy!
Hello Smiley Guy!

Elephant Parade, a new fabric by Tina Givens, is a delicious new fabric I found at Woodengate Quilts in Danville, California.

I just HAD to have it so much that I bought seven yards.  Plus three  yards in another colorway.

It is part of Tina Given’s line called Pernilla’s Journey from Westminster Fibers / Freespirit Fabric brands. This colorway is called Licorice Cloud.

You can see a wonderful booklet of the whole line of fabric in three different wonderful colorways if you go to: https://www.tinagivens.com/Fabrics.html. Click on the Pernilla booklet thing and you can turn pages and everything!

Elephant Parade, fabric by Tina Givens
Elephant Parade, fabric by Tina Givens

Of course this inspired a whole new quilt.  I bought some grays and then pulled out a million and two scraps from the scrap bin.

Scraps galore
Scraps galore

The I pulled out my copy of Maverick Quilts and went to town making a new California Housetop quilt.  Here is the audition photo.

Auditioning housetop blocks
Auditioning housetop blocks

These are 10″ blocks to give you a sense of the size and scale of the fabric. I am loving making a quilt out of my very own book. I keep having to check out the sizes and stuff to be sure I am doing it right. How funny is that? And I love making a quilt using some of my scraps! Just a reminder that the trick to making the California Housetop quilt is ti use a transitional color as the last strip in each block. (one that blends well into the background color)

Detail of Elephant Parade, fabric by Tina Givens
Detail of Elephant Parade, fabric by Tina Givens

Please hold for the finished quilt – It’s looking great!

Leave a Reply

