Quilting for You Magazine loves me!

Fabrications - Quilting for you cover, August/September 2011

Fabrications - Quilting for you cover, August/September 2011

Fabrications – Quilting for You magazine has put one of my quilts right on the cover of their magazine! And they did a five-page spread about it, too.

I am so proud.

Yep – that’s my Emerald Jalousie quilt hanging in that garden.

Inside they have the whole chapter from the book that shows how to make the Jalousie quilt.

This quilt is one of the first quilts I created for the Maverick Quilts book, and the Ginger version that is on the book’s cover was one of the last quilts I made leading up to the final deadline.

I had bought a large piece of this Amy Butler fabric and I absolutely loved the whole piece. I had been experimenting with cutting two fabrics into long vertical strips and sewing them together in such a way so the whole pattern peeked through. It worked with some success but wasted a lot of fabric.

For this quilt I realized that if I cut just a one-inch strip of fabric and sewed it into a cut in the fabric that the pattern would not be altered in size or scale. Armed with this knowledge, I set out to create a lattice glass window, called a jalousie, where I could see the whole fabric pattern through the grid.

Emerald Jalousie quilt, by Alethea Ballard; 2009

Emerald Jalousie quilt, by Alethea Ballard; 2009

I had also been exploring free-cutting curves in my quilts and borders. For this quilt I felt that the softness and movement of the curves would be the perfect alternative to the linear nature of the quilt’s center.

I have taught the Jalousie as a class and will be teaching it soon at In Between Stitches in Livermore, California. See the class description here, and you can sign up to take the class at the bottom of that page.

Here are some examples of my students work before quilting:

Lovely Irises peek through the jalousie in this quilt

Lovely Irises peek through the jalousie in this quilt

Beautiful example of a Jalousie quilt

Beautiful example of a Jalousie quilt

The directions for the curved piecing is in the book and the magazine article, but there is an error in the following graphic.

Diagram 6 - naughty and nice!

Diagram 6 - naughty and nice!

The graphic on the left shows the clips on the outside of the curves. That is wrong – naughty graphic!

To make the curves work, you really only want to clip the  inner curves. This allows for some easing of the fabric as you sew the pieces together. So the graphic to the right is correct – nice graphic.

Of course, you can always change the border to suit your own taste and working style. Read on…

I got a great email from my teacher’s pet, who said that she bought  my book in the morning and had this quilt finished by evening! She left out some of the vertical strips, and then she added the great squares in the border. I always encourage my students to make the quilts the way they want to doing the parts they like and leaving out the parts that aren’t fun to them. That is exactly what Chris did – that’s one of the things that makes her my pet!

by Chris Leach; 2011

by Chris Leach; 2011

detail of Jalousie by Chris Leach; 2011

detail of Jalousie by Chris Leach; 2011

I love that she used this fabric. I had bought some for a Jalousie quilt myself, and two of my closest friends have bought some for their projects, too! You can never have large enough flowered fabric, in my opinion.

You can get Fabrications, Quilting for You magazine anywhere in the UK and also certain locations her in the U.S. and abroad. If you live in England, you can get a copy of my book Maverick Quilts, using Large-Scale Fabrics, Novelty Prints & Panels with Panache through a special offer made by Roadhouse. Here is what they say: Roadhouse is offering this book at the special price of £19.99 (r.r.p. £23.00) including FREE postage & handling to mainland U.K. addresses (other destinations on request). To place an order contact Roadhouse on 01273 603717. The offer deadline is 15th November, 2011.

About maverickquilts

Artist, Author, Quilter View all posts by maverickquilts

4 responses to “Quilting for You Magazine loves me!

Leave a Reply

