Fall is quilt show time – DVQ’s quilt show

Camping Bus - quilt detail
Camping Bus - quilt detail

Here in the East Bay we have several really good quilt shows in the fall, including the Alden Lane quilt show in Livermore and the upcoming PIQF. I had the pleasure this year to attend the show put on by the Diablo Valley Quilt Guild, also called DVQ.

This year the DVQ show was housed at the Jewish Community Center in Walnut Creek, and I really liked the large airy space and the way the show was laid out. Often I feel really crowded in a show, but, with the way the quilts were set up, there was room to move and see everything without feeling like you were standing on people’s feet the whole time.

I wanted to share some quilts that I took photos of. Of course, this is just a sampling of the quilts in the show.

My Sister's VW Bus, by Kathy Gerdts
My Sister's VW Bus, by Kathy Gerdts

Let’s start off with everyone’s favorite theme, the Volkswagen. (Yes, I got more queries about Volkswagen quilts again this week! I wish I had invented Volkswagen quilts!) I love how each van has a different theme!

One thing I have been doing at quilt shows it taking photos of the labels when I photo the quilt. That way I can remember who made the quilt. I am often slightly dazed looking at all the quilts in a show, and this way I can read about the quilts when I look at the photos at home.

The card for the VW bus quilt
The card for the VW bus quilt

See how cool this is? Now I know that the fabrics for the vans have been saved for years and have special meaning for the quiltmaker and the receiver of the quilt.

There were several groups of quilts that were the result of different mini-group challenges. I liked these two quilts with the theme Into the Woods.

Into the Woods, by Linda Pawlowicz
Into the Woods, by Linda Pawlowicz
Into the Woods, by Lynne Douglas
Into the Woods, by Lynne Douglas

Lynne wrote that her main concern with going into nature was where the coffee would come from – I know just what she means!

Another group of quilts was a wonderful collection of work that was a result of a class given by Lynne. I think it was held at Asilomar. I really loved all of the work, which consiseted of layers of appliqued industrial-inspired circles. This one was submitted by Dorothy Foster. What a wonderful quilt!

Celebrate!!!, by Dorothy Foster
Celebrate!!!, by Dorothy Foster

Each layer of interesting fabric peeks through the wonderful shapes. In Dorothy’s work the golden rays of the corner blocks were absolutely radiant!

Celebrate!!!, detail
Celebrate!!!, detail

I always feel that the more you spend time looking at all the layers and exploring the motifs of a quilt, the more successful it is. Just look at how tantilizing these layers are!

Life in the Desert, by Hilda Koning-Bastiaan. 40" x 30"
Life in the Desert, by Hilda Koning-Bastiaan. 40" x 30"

I was delighted with this wonderful quilt made by Hilda Koning-Bastiaan. It has raw-edge applique and such lovely imagery. Hilda wrote that she enjoys watching the road runners in Southern California, where she lives for part of the year. This quilt is an adaptation of a pattern by Susan Cranshaw.

Life in the Desert - detail of succulent plant
Life in the Desert - detail of succulent plant

I loved the desert plants in the quilt.

Life in the Desert - detail of nopal cactus
Life in the Desert - detail of nopal cactus

See? And the rocks! Wonderful!

Pumpkin Peeps
Pumpkin Peeps

I have had the pleasure of going to Margaret Linderman and Janis Stob’s drop-in class on Mondays. This quilt, submitted by my dear friend Cyndy Rymer, was made by some of the ladies from the class. I love the folk-art feel, the fall colors, and the great appliques!

Pumpkin Peeps - detail upper right corner
Pumpkin Peeps - detail upper right corner
The Pumpkin Peeps card
The Pumpkin Peeps card

Another quilt that I really liked was this simple, yet very dynamic quilt made by Nancy Bournes.

Wonderful Stripes, by Nancy Bournes
Wonderful Stripes, by Nancy Bournes

Nancy wrote that the quilt was made from a Christine Barnes pattern called In and Out.

Wonderful Stripes, detail
Wonderful Stripes, detail

I am so enthralled at the contrast between the bold stripes and the subtle batiks. And the LIME green – yum!

Rising Temperatures, by Ann Grundler
Rising Temperatures, by Ann Grundler

Rising Temperatures, by Ann Grundler, was made entirely from cotton fabric that she dyed herself. It consists of three distinct color families and has varying angles oand shapes. This quilt stuck out to me as very different from all of the rest, and I loved exploring itl! This is the only photo that I took of the quilt, but I do want to add that the note indicated that this quilt is For Sale! If you are looking for a wonderful abstract quilt – you might be lucky enough to get it!

Folk Art Applique quilt, By Charlene Dakin
Folk Art Applique quilt, By Charlene Dakin

The last quilt I have to share is an applique quilt made in cotton and wool by Charlene Dakin, who I have had the pleasure of meeting. I didn’t take a photo of the card – see it really helps – but I was really taken by Charlene’s use of color and fabric. The playful animals are wonderful and the plants and houses, superb.

Folk Art Applique quilt - plant detail
Folk Art Applique quilt - plant detail

These appliques are so fun to study!

Folk Art Applique quilt - sheep detail
Folk Art Applique quilt - sheep detail

Look at that little cardinal. He’s no bigger than my thumb!

I hope to go to PIQF this week, so more to come soon

One thought on “Fall is quilt show time – DVQ’s quilt show

  1. Dear Alethea, First, I am so sorry not have commented on ALL of your wonderful blog posts. I think I have read almost every one! This post was soooo enjoyable. I especially liked the INTO THE WOODS and PUMPKIN PEEPS quilts, but each quilt is so artful & unique. Your posts have made me much more interested in the art of maverick quilting. Such an exuberant art form filled with surprises. Your enthusiasm and humor are so much fun to read and experience. I sometimes laugh out loud as I read about “Mavis” and her journeys through life. “Mavis” is a hoot! Thank you, and keep on writing!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

