Blogger’s Bar-Hop QuiltAlong – Maverick Style!

Me, me, me – It’s my turn!

Hello and if you’re new to my blog, WELCOME!

I am very happy to show you my blogger’s Bar Hop Quiltalong contribution: The Wyatt Block.

The Wyatt Block, by Alethea Ballard
The Wyatt Block, by Alethea Ballard

I’ve been on a mustache jag and have been making all kinds of things with mustaches!!!

My four + one
My four + one

For the blog hop we were each sent four fat quarters from the Clothworks  line, European TaupeVIII collection by Kinkame.

And the rules stated that we could add one fabric and we had to have a rectangle-shaped part to the block. I added the bright raspberry to bring out the flowers in the brown plaid and in the rose fabric. It’s very hard for me to work without a WHITE in there somewhere, but I persevered!

So when I went to design my block and saw that my fabrics included a brown – I JUST HAD TO make a mustache!

I designed the 12″ block to have a 6 x 12 panel in the middle to showcase the Wyatt. Then I thought the rest of the fabric would look nice with a piano key border. I drew it out nice, but then I sewed it wonky, of course!

Original idea
Original idea

When I drew up a brand new mustache for this block, my Thoroughly Modern Mavis Wednesday Night Drop in girls named it Wyatt! They also thought Samuel, Twain and Clemens were good names for this guy, so feel free to change the name – in fact name it after your uncle Spencer or your cousin Gilbert; it’s fine with me!

Design with new rows added
Design with new rows added

I was worried about the piano keys being too plain so I added a 1/2″ cross strip to break up the 3″ piano keys.

So strap on your spurs! Here’s how to make The Wyatt Block!

Copy mustache to paper side of fusible
Copy mustache to paper side of fusible

Copy the mustache to the paper side of the fusible.

Fuse to back of fabric, then cut out
Fuse to back of fabric, then cut out

Fuse the pattern to back of the fabric, then cut it out and fuse to a light background rectangle 6 1/2″ x 12 1/2″

Trace the name and embroider
Trace the name and embroider

I stitched around the mustache with a raspberry thread using a straight stitch. Then I traced the name from my pattern, using my trusty Frixion pen, and stitched it by hand using a back stitch. (For my loyal friends and readers who are in shock because you know that I NEVER do hand work, all I can say is needs must! And I’m a big girl now.)

Cut your strips
Cut your strips

I cut my strips randomly-ish as follows (pictured in order above) 2 1/4″, 2″, 1 3/4″, 1 1/2″, 1 1/2″, 1 1/4″, 1″ and 1″.

Sew strips together
Sew strips together

I sewed all the strips together randomly. Notice that I added in a tiny strip of the mustache fabric – very important visually.

Press all one direction
Press all one direction

Press seams in one direction or open them if you like (crispy-fried fingers).

Subcut the strips and add a 1" strip of the light fabric
Subcut the strips and add a 1″ strip of the light fabric

Subcut your strips as follows: 4 strips at 2″, 4 strips at 1 1/2″, 4 strips at 1″.

I add a bit when I sub cut
I add a bit when I sub cut

When I am working with small, complex strip sets I add a bit when I subcut and then trim down when I’ve assembled the whole thing. Then I can be sure to get the measurements correct. I usually sew my  just a little fat.

Lay out your 2" strips, removing a piece or two
Lay out your 2″ strips, removing a piece or two

Create randomly pieced strips by removing a bit here or there and sewing the bits together. Rip your pieces apart and sew them back together. Don’t use a seam ripper, be rough, pull, tear, go Maverick! The quilt police aren’t watching!

Create a 2″ strip longer than 12 1/2″

Lay out your 1 1/2" strips, removing a bit or two
Lay out your 1 1/2″ strips, removing a bit or two

Repeat the process with the 1 1/2″ strips. Create a 1 1/2″ strip longer than 12 1/2″

Add in your 1" strip
Add in your 1″ strip

Move the 1″ strip bits around and then add in little chunks of the light background fabric for some visual punch.

Create a 1″ strip longer than 12 1/2″

Trim strip sets to 3 1/2" wide
Trim strip sets to 3 1/2″ wide

Then sew the three strip sets together and trim down to 3 1/2″ wide and 12 1/2″ long.

Make a second strip set that is different
Make a second strip set that is different

Repeat the process for the bottom of the block. Have fun with this process! Don’t stress; make it wonky!

The Wyatt Block, by Alethea Ballard
The Wyatt Block, by Alethea Ballard

Add your strip sets to the top and bottom of your mustache bar and go get a drink!

Yee Ha, you did it!

Thanks y’all for stoppin’ by – stick around the old blog and see what else I’ve been up to – and you’re welcome to sign up to follow my blog if you like what you see!

I will email you the PDF of Wyatt’s mustache if you send me a message at maverickquilts (at) gmail.com!

One thought on “Blogger’s Bar-Hop QuiltAlong – Maverick Style!

Leave a Reply

