Alethea’s January Quilt – Nopal leaves

Loteria card # 39 - El Nopal

Loteria card # 39 – El Nopal

There is a bulletin board on the door of my sewing room and it’s a mess of photos and memorabilia.

At the top is this little card.

It’s from the Mexican game of Loteria, which is a bit like a visual bingo game in Spanish. Each card has an image, a number and a word.

This Loteria card was a momento of my brother and his wife’s wedding. The cards were at each place setting at the reception, and I got the nopal – also known as a prickly pair cactus.

My quilt really needs some of these!

Nopal Cacti - view 1

Nopal Cacti – view 1

I only had 25 minutes to work on the Obsession quilt today, so the rotary cutter and I whipped up some large Nopal cactus leaves.

Nopal Cacti - view 3

Nopal Cacti – view 3

I haven’t quilted them yet, but I’m loving them so far. I just had to share them with y’all today!

Nopal Cacti - view 2

Nopal Cacti – view 2

Please hold for the fruit or flowers and the quilting!

I’m off to order more black batting!

About maverickquilts

Artist, Author, Quilter View all posts by maverickquilts

Leave a Reply

