Alethea’s January Quilt – flowers and stitches

Little Birdie candelabrum from Laurie
Little Birdie candelabrum from Laurie

The January (obsession) Quilt has made a bit of progress.

I continue to find inspirations for shape, pattern, and color, like this darling little candelabrum that my dear friend Laurie gave me. It stands about five inches tall and it is intricately painted. The five-petaled flowers and the two-color leaves are making the brain cells work! The frilly painted lace motif is also something I am intrigued with.

I’ve also been adding a lot of pins to my Obsession Pintrest page!

Little birdie
Little birdie

And this little birdie has me really trying to figure out if I can incorporate birds into the piece!

Quilted petal parts - flower view 10
Quilted petal parts – flower view 10

You may remember this image as where I left off in the last post.

Flower center on the longarm
Flower center on the longarm

I got the flower’s center on to the longarm and then scribbled on it for a bit.

Flower center with the black batting
Flower center with the black batting

Here it is cut out.  You can see that I leave some parts, including the outsides of the pieces, unquilted so that I can have places to stitch when I add it to the quilt’s background later.

Quilted flower including the center
Quilted flower including the center

These little blue flowers are about four inches in diameter, so you can get some idea of the scale of the pieces.

Orange and blue flowers
Orange and blue flowers

I cut up a batch of little blue flowers, like the ones in the birdie candle holder, and gave them pink and yellow centers. These reddish-orange flowers are also promising! I made both four- and five-petaled ones.

First layer of quilting for the orange flowers
First layer of quilting for the orange flowers
First layer of quilting for the orange flowers
First layer of quilting for the orange flowers
Second layer added - blue center!
Second layer added – blue center!
Orange flower and the quilted nopal appliques
Orange flower and the quilted nopal appliques

I scribble-quilted circles on the nopales and gave them a nice big black batting edge.

Orange flower and the quilted nopal appliques
Orange flower and the quilted nopal appliques

I absolutely love them!

Orange floweres and the quilted nopal appliques
Orange floweres and the quilted nopal appliques

I don’t know if this is where the flowers will eventually live – but I like it for now.

Yellow six-petaled flowers
Yellow six-petaled flowers

Next up are more large-ish flowers. Yellow.

White five-petaled flowers
White five-petaled flowers

And my new favorites… the white flowers!

I’m off to Road to California tomorrow and will be taking a longarm class with Angela Walters. Maybe she can beat some of my bad, scribbly quilting habits out of me.

Be sure to say hello to me if you spy me there!

3 thoughts on “Alethea’s January Quilt – flowers and stitches

  1. what fun…so many rich layers add so much…love the layering and stiching. What a nice friend to give you such a delightful little gift for inspiration.! Hugs.

Leave a Reply

