Kids Camp 2011 – the adventure continues

Darling girls in darling aprons
Darling girls in darling aprons

One of the greatest gifts of  my life has been the opportunity to sew with children, including tweens and teens.

This summer is the fourth year that I have taught summer sewing camp in the area, and last week’s class at Thimble Creek Quilt Shop was a delight.  It was a smaller group this year, so I taught alone, missing my co-teacher Laura Nownes very much.

In the past we have always tackled quilt projects, but this year it seemed fun to try some of the traditional home-ec projects.  This way everyone would have some easy, cool projects under their belt that they can make again on their own.

I was nervous when I learned that half of the class had not used a sewing machine before, but everyone jumped right in, feet first!  All six intrepid girls finished hidden-seam/French seam pillowcases and began their placemats on the first day.  I was blown away!

Semi-pro pillow cases in just 2 1/2 hours!
Semi-pro pillow cases in just 2 1/2 hours!

As the week progressed we also made aprons and the two advanced sewers completed cute tote bags.  Laura Nownes subbed for me on Wednedsay as I was fighting a cold, and she and the girls made great, mitered-corner napkins!

Aprons, placemats, and tote bags!
Aprons, placemats, and tote bags!

Being the only girl in my family, I didn’t have much exposure to other girls.  When I work with girls now, I am always amazed at how kind they are to each other.  They are quick to share tools, notions, or fabric.  They also readily stop and help out with sewing help or encouragement.

I have always felt that teaching is a privilege and an important undertaking, and it is always wonderful to have such a lovely group of students!

I will be teaching two more weeks of kids camp this summer.  If you are interested in details, please see my calendar found at: http://maverickquilts.com/absolutewc/?c=1

These sweet friends came to class together.
These sweet friends came to class together.