Where Cuckoo Women Create – Crafty Christmas Fair

Mavis Quinn, 2011 Holiday

Mavis Quinn, 2011 Holiday

Happy Holidays and Merry-Xmas from all of us here at Where Cuckoo Women Create Magazine .com.org.biz.

My latest assignment has been an utter joy to complete, as this is my favorite time of year.  I love the shopping, the traffic, the animated drivers and the compulsion to give gifts to everyone I have ever met and some that I’ve never met. Usually, I get my gifts online at Sharper Image (Great prices on personal grooming devices) and the Burlington Coat Factory (Loads of fur (fake) this year! So IN!). However, my editor has sent me out to see what Cuckoo Women are creating for this year’s Holiday Gift Boutiques, and I loved it! I was able to get a gift for absolutely everyone on my holiday list!

My first stop was the West Countie Crafters Holiday Gifte Boutique and Sweet Shoppe.

At the Boutique

At the Boutique

There were so many booths and vendors and I just loved walking through and seeing what everyone has created for this year’s holiday extravaganza! While I can’t possibly show you everything (especially since a strange lady in a Santa hat kept getting in my way and grabbing all the good stuff up and shoving it in her motorized scooter’s carrying basket), I can give you a rundown of the things that I especially liked.

Clown Nutcracker

Clown Nutcracker

Now, this hand-painted gift combines two of my ultimate favorite Christmas themes, the cheerful and positive nutcracker and the soothing and reassuring clown. I couldn’t pass by it without snapping a pic!

Bed Spring Tree Topper

Bed Spring Tree Topper

GO GREEN is a mantra of our modern society, so these clever tree toppers and ornaments made from old bed springs were just flying off the wooden barrel they were displayed upon.

I'm not sure, but heck, it's Christmasy

I'm not sure what it is, but heck, it's Christmasy

And this Santa-like skeleton thing – so seasonal!

Also in the GO GREEN holiday department were these fetching items:

Reused foil - thank you, Thanksgiving turkey!

Reused foil - thank you, Thanksgiving turkey!

Cotton Balls - thank you Macy's makeup counter girls

Cotton Balls - thank you Macy's makeup counter girls

Cotton Balls and Tongue Depressors, too - Thanks, Dr. Heller's phlebotomist

Cotton Balls and Tongue Depressors, too - Thanks, Dr. Heller's phlebotomist

Nothin' like a peanut ornament! Thanks to the Duckville Little League

Nothin' like a peanut ornament! Thanks to the Duckville Little League

Ohhh, a peanut gnome, how cute is that?

Ohhh, a peanut gnome, how cute is that?

Fall Garden Trimmings, thanks to the neighbor's green barrel left out on the streets on Wednesday Mornings!

Fall Garden Trimmings, thanks to the neighbor's green barrel left out on the streets on Wednesday Mornings!

Save your Jar Lids - they make CUUTE snowmen! Thanks, Auntie Marge

Save your Jar Lids - they make CUUTE snowmen! Thanks, Auntie Marge

Crafty Tree Topper - thanks to the Stunville School Custodial Staff

Crafty Tree Topper - thanks to the Stunville School Custodial Staff

Speaking of tree toppers, there was a whole booth of clever tree toppers at the faire!

A Red-Eyed Octopus Thing get's one in the holiday spirit, for sure!

A Red-Eyed Octopus Thing get's one in the holiday spirit, for sure!

I'll have the Blue Christmas, please!

I'll have the Blue Christmas, please!

Love Christmas, I do!

Love Christmas, I do!

I have to say that at the next booth I bought one of everything and crossed most of the people OFF of my list. Boy is that LIBERATING!

A Princess for my Niece Griselda

A Princess for my Niece Griselda

My niece Brunhilda loves glitter, so I had to get this for her!

My niece Brunhilda loves glitter, so I had to get this for her!

Santa Yoda for my cousin Yancy

Santa Yoda for my cousin Yancy

R2D2 delivering gifts for my dear friend Lynn

R2D2 delivering gifts for my dear friend Lynn

Marvin loves Chewbacca - perfect!

Marvin loves Chewbacca - perfect!

Stormtrooper for my nephew Stanley

Stormtrooper for my nephew Stanley

Bobba Fet for my nephew Bavid

Bobba Fett for my nephew Bavid

C3PO for my nephew Cedrick

C3PO for my nephew Cedrick

This guy is just perfect for my brother, Marlon

This guy is just perfect for my brother, Marlon

The Wool-Felted Aircraft I had to have for my tree - sorry relatives, they're MINE!

The Wool-Felted Aircraft I had to have for my tree - sorry relatives, they're MINE!

These cuties are also for my tree!

These cuties are also for my tree!

I couldn’t believe that I got so lucky this year! So many great gifts in one spot.

There were some other really interesting things that I saw, and, while I am not quite sure what they are, they look pretty special!

What?

What?

Humm?

Humm?

Um?

Um?

Really?

Really?

How?

How?

ARE YOU KIDDING ME?

ARE YOU KIDDING ME?

Well, dreary readers, that’s all for today. I have to take my pet chinchilla to the vet because he is making the most appalling sound- I think he ate my wool-felted Millennium Falcon. There goes the tree!

Editors note: No animals were harmed in the making of this post. The opinions expressed in this post do not necessarily reflect the feelings and beliefs of this magazine. Some names were changed to protect the innocent.

About maverickquilts

Artist, Author, Quilter View all posts by maverickquilts

4 responses to “Where Cuckoo Women Create – Crafty Christmas Fair

  • Eileen McNaughton

    I think Mavis managed to find the ugliest Christmas crap on the planet! The clown Nutcracker is by far my fave!

  • Lala

    The MerMan was my favorite….never saw one before….the Peanuts….? Hmmmm, I don’t know about some of your taste, Mavis. Really!!!

  • Carol

    oh my goooooodneessssss. I need to find the star wars ornaments for my nephew!!! he will love them!!
    great post.
    sounds like you had a great time.

  • maisondeballard

    Dear Mavis, your Editor sure knew the best place to send you to have a good time! What a treasure trove of delightful gifts for your extended family. I was especially intrigued by the Peanut Gnome ornaments. Never seen anything like that, nor anything else here, actually. Have a Merry Christmas, and enjoy that face mask!

Leave a Reply

